How Colorado Kicked my A$$

It’s surprising what 6 months can do to you. I’m sure the 7 ½ pounds of peanut m&ms and lack of cardio didn’t help my case -_- . Nonetheless I made my triumphant return back to the land of red (well some shade of red but that’s neither here nor there since none of you from outside of Colorado know what I’m talking about) after six long months in LA LA Land. I say long months but the months really fly by when you’re pounding spreadsheets for ten hours every day. Anyone need any excel modeling done? Apparently I’m good at it. Probably because I’m a nerd.

Anyways, my split from Colorado was a rather seamless one. I thought that all was well and that we could still be friends but just like a cat who takes a dump on your pillow after being left alone for a week, CO played the silent but oh so clever “that’s what you get bitch” card on me last weekend. It started Friday morning when my 6:30am flight left Long Beach. Morning flights are sweet because you save money but also suck because who really wants to be sitting in an airport or on a plane staring at skymall magazine at 5 in the morning? My mind was so numb from lack of sleep that I decided that SkyMall was the equivalent of a high end Wal-Mart and that I wanted, nay, I neeeeeded some of the things in there. I finally passed out right around the page that had the device where, for only $100 plus S&H, you can make water into…… wait for it…… soda water. Mmmm nothing like home-made coke, don’t put too much syrup in there mom, you know how I like it.

I woke up as the plane touched ground at DIA, the kluckit proclaimed greatest airport in the world, and was relieved to see that it was a nice sunny day. You see, in the six months that I have spent our here in southern California I have turned into exactly what I told everyone in Colorado I’d turn into, a weather pussy.  My preferred temperature now sits around 70 degrees (the temperature that LA is everyday) with a comfortability threshold of about +/- 3 degrees. When it hits 67 it’s cold and when it hits 73 it’s hot. Terrible I know, but not as terrible as forgetting that a sunny day in the Colorado Winter means a high of 40 degrees. Still I enjoyed the light nip on my face as I laughed at the fact that it was sunny and clear to my left and snowing to my right. Ahhh Colorado.

Here’s the quick version of my trip after exiting the Airport: Airport, QDoba, straight to mountains, exit QDoba stage toilet, ski- aka pound moguls, pickleball (yea wtf I know), sleep, ski all day-aka destroy quads, happy hour ($2 for a shot a sangria, a beer, and a piece of sushi? Here’s six bucks and keep ‘em comin’. I’m hungry.), dinner, drink, hot tub, sleep- as much as a 3 ½ yr old cousin will let you, ski all day-aka destroy all remaining muscles, work during the car ride to the airport, stare at skymall on the plane for 2 hours, drive an hour to North Hollywood and then pass the F&%K OUT!

Whew, I’m tired just writing it. Seriously though I had a blast skiing my brains out with all of my family and former coaches, doing a little coaching of my own during a mogul comp, seeing my tiny cousin bode ski for the 10th time ever, hot tubbing with Will, Josh & Leah, and just entirely taking a trip down memory lane. The weirdest thing about being back in Colorado is that 6 months later it still felt like home. It was like I had just taken an extended work-stay vacation and had finally returned. That being said, I don’t miss it… yet. California has been amazing and has much more in store for me now that I am finally, completely out on my own for the first time in my life. To be able to travel between the two is the ultimate. Life is grand.

Comments
11 Responses to “How Colorado Kicked my A$$”
  1. lesliev madsen says:

    Kev, you are ski stud muffin, stylish in that CU Buffs official team skiwear….btw srk’s conference was cancelled so he will join you for the whole CB trip!

  2. tsonoda148 says:

    You sound so happy, Kluck, and I am so happy for you! Looks like your little nitch in life is quite comfy. I do know the hold that Colorado has on a person, though, having lived in Colorado Springs for 9 years. I still love going back for visits. It’s too beautiful not to return to.
    Again, loved your post. Particularly like how you get a whole bunch of stuff into that one paragraph. Wears me out just reading it.
    Good stuff.
    Terri

  3. tsonoda148 says:

    Oh yea, I’m following You on Twitter. Why are you not following Me? hmmmmm??? I’m crushed.

  4. Grey Goose, Dirty says:

    Sounds like a great weekend! Glad you had a blast.

    I used to love skiing moguls. That is, before I turned into an old fart with the knees of a 90 year old 😉 I could certainly keep up with you at happy hour though (that’s my one true love and real calling in life)

    • kluckmeister says:

      I was on knee pills while competing so hopefully mine will last longer. Still my favorite line, which I used all the time that weekend, is “I’m getting to old for this sh*t”. Unfortunately I am also losing my happy hour touch due to excessive amounts of excel modeling…

  5. Paul Kluck says:

    Kev, The vid of the mogul comp plus some pretty cool stills of you and Steve are on the Eskimo Club facebook page. Just had 7 inches of fresh this morning. Looking forward to seeing you on the cat trip. —
    Dad

  6. Bronan! says:

    Excel modeling? Ye gods, that sounds boring.

  7. Moe says:

    now try all that at my age and with a 3 year old:~) It just gets better Kev!

  8. I left Kentucky for Chicago like four and a half years ago and it still feels like home when I go visit. Not in like an “I want to move back” way, but it’s hard to stop thinking about where you grew up as “home,” I think. Is excel mastery your ultimate goal in L.A.? Other aspirations?

    • kluckmeister says:

      @Bronan- I think I could probably build you a model depicting the amount of time spent on excel and the depriciating amount of fun it becomes. Insert boredom variable here…

      @Moe- noooooooooo thanks. I’ll let you take care of him while I reap the benefits 🙂

      @kayleigh- Long term plans? You sound like a girlfriend. Short term plans for me? No dating. Ha actually I have a lot of aspirations that i’m in the middle of right now. I’m currently writing this blog, writing a screenplay, trying to get in back in shape, learning how to play the keyboard, beefing up on guitar, and enjoying the hell out of LA. The excel modeling just allows me to do all this stuff without worrying about rent, food, and glorious alcohol.

Leave a Reply

