Confessions of a Gargoyle

Inspired by a phone conversation overheard on the metro blue line going through Compton.

The ring felt like a sledgehammer when it hit my face, shattering my life into a million irrelevant pieces. How did it come to this? I stood there staring into the dark void that is now my life, my feet rooted in the ground as deep as the oldest redwood. I watched it fall in slow motion, like a feather floating to the ground, completely ignoring the gravity of the situation. It sparkled like the stars of a never-ending galaxy, its beauty rivaled only by its power. The innocent *ping* added insult to injury as it hit the cold marble floor. How did it come to this? The slamming door jolted me back to reality. I wanted to run, I wanted to scream, but my body was paralyzed by shock. I felt the emotions drain out my toes like syrup. So I stood. Motionless, emotionless, and absent of life. I became nothing. I am a gargoyle.

Comments
2 Responses to “Confessions of a Gargoyle”
  1. tsonoda148 says:

    Fabulous. I want more. Get back on the blue line or make something up, but get me more. Very compelling, intriguing, and a teaser for the senses. Nice writing Kluck……

    Terri

  2. Moe says:

    awesome! You have quite the “deep thought” nature to this post. Glad it wasn’t you who had a ring throw in their face:) I think you are a ways away from that.

Leave a Reply

